Apr 26, 2010

Democratic interns sweep awards

Ashley Morris, of Jackson and a former intern for state Sen. Michael Switalski, D-Roseville, is winner of the 2010 Daniel Rosenthal Legislative Intern award, administered by Michigan State University’s James Madison College and MSU’s Institute for Public Policy and Social Research in the College of Social Science.

Morris, 24, is a second-year student in MSU’s College of Law and is studying for a master's degree in human resources and industrial relations. In her nominating her, Switalski cited Morris' willingness to tackle every assignment – researching taxes and pensions and even redesigning his website and newsletter.

“If she had worked for me 10 years ago, I would probably be governor by now,” he wrote in nominating Morris.

Morris, who won a $600 cash award, has worked as an intern in Switalski’s office since last August. She earned her undergraduate degree in management at Grand Valley State University.

The Rosenthal Award was established by the family of the late Daniel Rosenthal, a Michigan State University student who died in 1977. He was one of the first to take part in MSU’s Legislative Student Intern Program.

Laura Grannemann, of Okemos, was named runner-up and winner of the Vernon Ehlers Award. The 17-year-old Okemos High School senior plans to pursue international relations and public policy after graduation this May. Grannemann was nominated by Rep. Joan Bauer, D-Lansing, who said Grannemann had worked on legislative issues and day-to-day constituent issues while an intern in her office since last September.

"I know when I work with people like Laura that our future's in great hands," Bauer said in congratulating Grannemann.

A total of 15 legislative interns were nominated for the 2010 awards.

The other nominees were:
Allison Briggs, of Holt, a political science senior at Michigan State University, also nominated by Bauer.
Jeff Caviston, of Traverse City, a political science-pre-law junior at MSU, who was nominated by Rep. Wayne Schmidt, R-Traverse City.
David Hoogmoed, of Ada, a Grand Valley State University student, nominated by Sen. Mark Jansen, R-Gaines Township.
Lauren Hutchinson, of Commerce Township, an American public policy sophomore at Western Michigan University, nominated by Senate Majority Leader Mike Bishop, R-Rochester.
Andrew Keller, of Dexter, a senior in MSU’s James Madison College in international relations, nominated by Rep. Dudley Spade, D-Tipton.
Weston Laabs, of Northville, a James Madison College senior in international relations, nominated by Sen. Hansen Clarke, D-Detroit.
Michael Marx, of Warren, an MSU journalism major, nominated by Rep. Harold Haugh, D-Roseville.
Jennifer McGrath, of White Lake, a graduate student in MSU’s College of Law, nominated by Sen. Gerald Van Woerkom, R-Norton Shores.
Evan Nichols, of Eaton Rapids, a student in public policy at the University of Michigan, nominated by Rep. Kate Segal, D-Battle Creek.
Alanna Powell, of Holly, a James Madison College junior at MSU also studying teacher education, nominated by Sen. John Pappageorge, R-Troy.
Michael Raley, of Belmont, a senior sociology and public administration student at MSU nominated by Rep. Roy Schmidt, D-Grand Rapids.
Luke Wagner, a Lansing home-schooled high school senior, nominated by Sen. Alan Cropsey, R-DeWitt.
Katelyn Wilcox, of Sheridan, an MSU senior studying finance and French specializing in international business, nominated by Rep. Kevin Daley, R-Arcadia Township.

The Institute for Public Policy and Social Research (IPPSR), a nonpartisan public policy network at MSU dedicated to connecting legislators, scholars and practitioners through survey, evaluation and applied research, policy forums and political leadership briefings.

No comments: