Sep 1, 2009

Tobocman named new MPLP Co-Director

Former Michigan House Majority Floor Leader Steve Tobocman, D- Detroit, was named co-director of the Michigan Political Leadership Program (MPLP) at Michigan State University (MSU), part of the Institute for Public Policy and Social Research (IPPSR).

IPPSR is a nonpartisan public policy network at MSU dedicated to connecting legislators, scholars and practitioners through survey, evaluation and applied research, policy forums and political leadership briefings. The MPLP program trains Michigan’s future leaders from the entire political spectrum during an intensive nine-month program. Past alumni of the annual program that began in 1992 include Rep. Ed Clemente, D-Lincoln Park; Detroit City Council President Kenneth Cockrel, Jr.; Macomb County Sheriff Mark Hackel: Rep. Robert Dean, D-Grand Rapids; and Sen. Wayne Kuipers, R-Holland.

The co-directors include a Democrat and a Republican, and Tobocman joins Republican co-director Anne Mervenne. Tobocman was named to replace former state Senator and former House Minority Leader Dianne Byrum, who resigned after being elected to the Michigan State University Board of Trustees last November.

Tobocman was term-limited last year after serving in the Michigan House of Representatives from 2003 through 2008. Since leaving the House last year, Tobocman has been managing partner of New Solutions LLC and serves as co-director of the Michigan Foreclosure Task Force.

“I am truly excited about the opportunity to help lead such a respected and proven program,” he said.

No comments: