Feb 22, 2010

The 2009 National Environmental Scorecard released today

Seven members of the Michigan Congressional delegation have perfect environmental voting record, based on the 2009 National Environmental Scorecard released today by the Michigan League of Conservation Voters (LCV) and the national League of Conservations Voters.

For the past 30 years, the National Environmental Scorecard issued by LCV has been the nationally accepted yardstick used to rate members of Congress on environmental, public health and energy issues, and this is the first scorecard for the 111th Congress

“We applaud those members of the Michigan delegation who fought in 2009 to bring clean energy jobs to the state and reduce our national dependence on foreign oil, such as Senators Levin and Stabenow and Representatives Kildee, Schauer, Peters, (Levin) and Kilpatrick” said Michigan LCV’s Executive Director Lisa Wozniak, in a press release. “The 2009 Scorecard clearly exposes some members of our delegation as putting corporate polluters and other special interests ahead of a cleaner, more secure energy future for Michigan.”

The 2009 Scorecard includes 11 Senate and 13 House votes dominated by clean energy and climate but also encompassing other environmental issues such as public lands, water and wildlife conservation. In Michigan, five House members and both senators earned a perfect 100 percent score in 2009, while one House member, Congressman Pete Hoekstra, received an abysmal 7 percent. The average House score in 2009 for Michigan was 67 percent and the average Senate score was 100 percent.

Representatives Stupak, Kildee, Schauer, Peters, Levin, Kilpatrick, Conyers and Dingell voted for the landmark American Clean Energy and Security Act, which would help bring more than 53,000 clean energy jobs to Michigan.

Carl Levin (D-MI) 100%
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) 100%

Bart Stupak (D-01) 93%
Pete Hoekstra (R-02) 7%
Vern Ehlers (R-03) 50%
Dave Camp (R-04) 21%
Dale E. Kildee (D-05) 100%
Fred Upton (R-06) 36%
Mark Schauer (D-07) 100%
Mike Rogers (R-08) 21%
Gary Peters (D-09) 100%
Candice Miller (R-10) 50%
Thaddeus McCotter (R-11) 36%
Sandy Levin (D-12) 100%
Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick (D-13) 100%
John Conyers, Jr. (D-14) 93%
John D. Dingell (D-15) 93%

Michigan League of Conservation Voters is a non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to passing strong environmental laws, electing environmental champions, and holding lawmakers accountable for their actions

No comments: